POCKETEARTH

My Listings vs My Pins lists

Home All Topics General My Listings vs My Pins lists

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    mfloreen
    Participant
    • Topics: 7
    • Replies: 12

I’m still learning how PocketEarth works, so there might be something I’m missing here.

If I’m trying to make a list of my favorite places in a new city, I find that some of them are already part of the OpenStreetMap. So I just select the icon for that place and I can save it to my favorites. It’s really easy, and it shows up in My Listings with all the right info already. If, however, it isn’t already part of the map, I have to drop a pin there and rename it. It takes a little longer to get the pin in the right place and spell out the full name. What happens is that I end up with some of my favorite restaurants in My Listings, and some of them in My Pins. 
    I’m wondering why there are two separate lists for My Listings and My Pins. I’ve noticed that pins show up on a small-scale map, but my listings don’t (unless they’re selected). What are the differences between these two lists?
    GeoMagik
    Admin
    • Topics: 32
    • Replies: 799

Some of the differences between favorite listings and pins will be changed by our next app update, v1.3 which will be available in about 2 weeks. In particular they will both show for low zoom levels, pins will be easier to create and move, and pins will offer more customization (selectable icons, color, etc).

The main difference though, and the reason we show them in separate lists, is that Pins are generally used for marking locations of personal interest such as your home, work office, friends houses, favorite hiking spots which never have listings for them, etc.   Its true that the maps are often lacking POI listings for some of the places you frequent and so creating a Pin to represent them is convenient.